What I’ve Been Reading…

Those of you who know me, know that I love to read and am constantly looking for the latest greatest books out there. Because of that, a lot of people ask me if I have any good books to read and so I thought I’d add a section to this blog where I can share with you what I’ve been reading lately and my thoughts on them.

Hopefully, you find some things that interest you, and please let me know what you’ve been reading as well! I love to get suggestions!

The Demonologist- by Andrew Pyper

This book was crazy!! Think Da Vinci Code, meets The Exorcist, meets The Sixth Sense, meets  a mystery novel. There were a couple of times, when after putting it down for the night, I was worried I was going to have nightmares because the story was so intense. The story centers around Professor David Ullman, a university professor and an expert on Milton’s Paradise Lost, whose daughter goes missing while they’re on a mysterious trip to Venice. The book follows his journey to find her as he grapples with his beliefs, the presence of demons, and countless dead people, while trying to use Paradise Lost as a sort of guide. A fun thriller, but make sure you don’t read it at home alone in the dark!

World War Z- by Max Brooks

After all the hype and advertisements for the movie version of this book, I was interested to get my hands on a copy of it. Unfortunately, it wasn’t really my cup of tea, although I thought the formatting and writing was very creative and unique. The book reads as a series of interviews, primarily of leading military or policing officials from all over the world, as they try and explain what happened during the war on zombies. While this may be entertaining for some, I was disappointed that there weren’t more stories of ordinary people and ordinary experiences, especially those of women.

I had the chance to see the movie at the beginning of the month though, and liked it much better than the book. The movie had a clear story line, and continuity of character which I really enjoyed. Plus Brad Pitt was in it, which didn’t hurt:)

Kisses From Katie- by Katie Davis

Simply put, I LOVED this book. I’m not sure what it was about it, whether it was the inspiring story, the personable writing, or the fascination of a distant African country, but I couldn’t put this book down. I was actually rationing how much I was reading of it by the end!

It’s a non-fiction book written by Katie, a then 18-year old girl (although she was 22 when the book was published) from Tennessee who finds her calling creating a home for orphaned or severely under-privileged children in Uganda. She also starts a charity called Amazima that works to meet the basic necessities of some of the neediest children in Uganda- things like food, shelter, and medicine, as well as school fees.

Katie’s writing definitely has a distinct religious (Christian) feel to it, just so you know, but overall the story is simply one of the most inspiring and incredible stories I’ve ever read. You can also check out her blog at http://www.kissesfromkaties.blogspot.ca

The Paradise Guest Hotel- by Ellen Sussman

This book would make a great beach read. It’s not too long, and it’s a paperback so it won’t take up too much room in your beach bag. The story centres around the events of the 2002 nightclub bombings in Bali, and a man and a woman who meet on that fateful night. Sussman alternates between telling the story from the woman’s perspective in the present day, and the man’s perspective on the night of the bombing and in the immediate days following.

The story is in-depth enough that you can see the development of characters, but not so detailed that it’s a slog to read. I also learnt a lot about Bali and the bombings of 2002, since I knew almost nothing about them before. Pick up this book for a great summer read!

Thanks for stopping by!!

One response to “What I’ve Been Reading…

Leave a Reply

