Grapeseed Oil Cookies with White Chocolate and Cranberries

Hi there. Thanks for stopping by! It’s been quite a long time since I’ve posted and I’m sorry about that. Life has been a whirlwind since I last posted. Trips to New York City, Edmonton and Calgary, adventures in Vancouver, and lots of work. I’m sure you can all relate.

IMG_5588

As you’ve probably noticed, I decided to change blogging platforms because I just wasn’t happy with the flexibility and choices available from Blogger. I hope you like this design as well, I know I already notice a huge difference. I’m still trying to get used to all the new things I can do so please bear with me!

IMG_5583

I’ve missed you though, and have decided to make it my mission to post regularly on here, so that you have a reliable source of delicious recipes coming your way. You may also come across some other interesting posts so stay tuned!

IMG_5592

As a welcome back, I decided to make cookie, because is there a better way to get reacquainted than with some original chocolate chip cookies? I recently came across this recipe using grapeseed oil instead of butter or margarine as the fat and thought it looked interesting. It’s not a very common cookie ingredient as you know, and I love trying new things, so it was immediately bookmarked. I’m happy that you get to see the results, because the recipe truly produces beautiful and delicious cookies. I bet you’re all wondering if there are any differences to baking though when you’re using grape seed oil instead of butter, so…

IMG_5586

Why use grape seed oil instead of butter?

1. There’s no need to wait for the butter to come to room temperature, which means less time and easier creaming.

2. Health Benefits

– Grape seed oil is rich in antioxidant Vitamin E, C, and beta carotene

– It’s also rich in polyunsaturated fats that improve blood cholesterol levels, which can decrease your risk of heart disease

– It also has high levels of omega-6 fatty acids an essential nutrient that your body cannot make by itself, and that may be useful for numerous health conditions

(Livestrong)

3. Curiosity

– Don’t you want to know what a chocolate chip cookie made with grape seed oil tastes like compared to butter? I do. And the dough…don’t worry, I checked it for you and it tastes just as amazing as regular chocolate chip cookie dough:)

IMG_5602

I  decided to use a mixture of white chocolate, semi-sweet chocolate, and dried cranberries as add-in’s for a change of pace. I  find that the semi-sweet chocolate sets off the sweetness of the white chocolate and cranberries for a nice balance of flavours.

IMG_5605

The dark brown sugar adds chew and texture to the cookies and keeps them soft for days. I have become a big fan of using sea salt in my baked goods since I enjoy the tiny bursts of saltiness against sweet when eating dessert. It’s that whole salty and sweet thing! Feel free to use regular table salt if you’d like, although I’d scale it back to about 1/2 tsp.

IMG_5590

Grape Seed Oil Cookies with White Chocolate and Cranberries

1 cup dark brown sugar

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs, at room temperature

2 Tbsp vanilla (I was a little wary of this amount, so used a scant 2 Tbsp)

3/4 cup grape seed oil

2 and 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp coarse sea salt (see note above)

3 ounces white chocolate, chopped

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/2 cup dried cranberries

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a bowl combine both sugars, eggs and vanilla. Beat with a whisk for 2 minutes until light in colour. (You could do this with an electric mixer but I was too lazy to get mine out.)

Slowly add in grape seed oil and beat until evenly combined.

Add in flour, baking soda, and salt and stir until evenly combined. Fold in both kinds of chocolate and the cranberries.

Refrigerate dough for 30 minutes. (Feel free to skip this step. I tried baking the dough right after it was made and then after it had been refrigerated and prefer the extra bit of height that comes when the dough is baked cold.) Drop by heaping tablespoon fulls onto prepared baking sheet 2 inches apart.

Bake 9-11 minutes until edges are golden. Allow to cool on baking sheet for about 4 minutes and then transfer to wire rack to continue cooling. Cookies will keep in an airtight container for up to 4 days.

Yield: 2 dozen cookies

(Adapted from Cookies and Cups)

Leave a Reply

