Vanilla Pumpkin Bread

I’m finally done exams! Yay! I’m really excited this year too because I was done the earliest I’ve ever been, and now have a chance to really enjoy some time off. It doesn’t hurt that I’m writing this post from sunny California.

After studying like a mad woman leading up to my exam on Tuesday, I flew out to California on Wednesday, and now am enjoying a change of scenery full of rolling hills, Meyer lemon trees, and of course sunshine!

Before exams started I made this pumpkin bread that I have to say I was a bit skeptical to try at first. I’m not really a fan of using commercial pudding mixes in my baking so I tend to avoid those sorts of recipes. I love pumpkin bread though, and am always willing to try a different take on this classic.

This recipe uses vanilla pudding mix in addition to the pumpkin, and the vanilla pudding taste definitely comes through. It adds a lovely custard taste to the bread that is accented by the addition of all the different spices. It also keeps the bread moist for days after baking it. I also tried to make this a little bit healthier by substituting applesauce for some of the butter, and using some whole wheat flour for some of the all-purpose. Also, if you don’t want, or don’t have all the spices on hand, feel free to substitute 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead.

Vanilla Pumpkin Bread

Ingredients:
1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 pkg. (4-serving size) Jell-O Vanilla Instant Pudding
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg AND ground ginger
1/8 tsp cloves
1/4 tsp all-spice
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup butter, melted
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 cup sugar
1 3/4 cup canned pumpkin (1 can)
2 eggs

Directions:
Heat oven to 350 F.

Mix flour, dry pudding mix, baking powder, spices, and baking soda; set aside.

Whisk butter, applesauce, sugar, and pumpkin in large bowl. Blend in eggs. Add flour mixture; stir just until moistened. Pour into a 9×5 loaf pan sprayed with cooking spray.

Bake 1 hour to 1 hour 5 minutes (Mine took 1 hour 5 minutes), or until toothpick inserted in centre comes out clean. Cover bread loosely with foil for the last 20 minutes if it’s looking to brown. Cool bread in pan 10 min. Remove from pan to wire rack; cool completely.

(Adapted from KRAFT Canada)

Leave a Reply

