Blueberry Cheesecake Muffins

Ok, let’s talk about these muffins. For the longest time I’ve had a thing against putting cream cheese in my muffins. First of all, I am not a fan of cheesecake…Ewww, sweet things and cheese just don’t go together in my opinion. So the thought of putting that sort of thing in a soft, tender muffin just was not appealing to me.

But then I had half a block of cream cheese sitting in the fridge just waiting to be used, and I came across a recipe in the KRAFT Canada magazine that sounded delicious, and decided to give it a try. Boy, am I happy I did. Now I want to put cream cheese in all my muffins!

These muffins have a sweet vanilla cream cheese center, surrounded by a an orange scented oatmeal muffin, brimming with blueberries.
They are super easy to make and would be the perfect addition to any breakfast table, or as a snack on the road. I used light cream cheese and 1% milk soured with vinegar to try and keep things on the lighter side, and I don’t think I sacrificed for taste at all. Definitely a must try!

Blueberry Cheesecake Muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup large flake rolled oats (I used Old Fashioned Oats)
1 cup buttermilk (or 1 cup of milk with 1 tbsp vinegar or lemon juice)
4 oz cream cheese, softeneed (I used light)
1/4 cup icing sugar
1/4 tsp vanilla extract
Zest of 1/2 an orange
1 cup flour
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 large egg, beaten
1/4 cup butter, melted
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries

Directions:

Heat oven to 350 F.
Combine oats and buttermilk in small bowl; let stand 10 min.
Meanwhile, beat cream cheese, icing sugar, and vanilla with mixer until blended; set aside.
Add egg, butter, orange zest and brown sugar to oat mixture; stir until well blended. Add flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; stir just until moistened. Gently stir in berries
Spoon half the batter evenly into 12 muffin cups lined with paper liners, filling each liner half full; top each with about 1 Tbsp of the cream cheese mixture. Cover with remaining batter.
Bake 25 to 27 minutes or until toothpick inserted in centres comes out clean (My were done after 25 minutes).

(Roughly adapted from KRAFT Canada)


2 responses to “Blueberry Cheesecake Muffins

  1. Pingback: Classic Blueberry Muffins | Kitchen Cures·

Leave a Reply

