Nutella Kissed Pumpkin Gingersnap Cookies

Today is a very exciting day for Kitchen Cures! While many people have been sending me messages or talking to me in person about my blog, today it received its first comment. Thank you Sally, and everyone else who has shared kind words about my blog! Please feel free, if you see something you like or want to comment on something, to leave me a note below. I’d love to hear from you!

Do you want to know what else is exciting??? I’ve started my Christmas shopping… and I’m already almost done! With the internet these days, I pretty much didn’t even have to get up from my chair to get everything I needed. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing, but it does make for some pretty relaxing shopping…

The problem is, it seems like I spend nearly as much money on things that I want, as I do buying other people what they want, which is definitely not good for my bank account. How can I resist though, when all I need to do is buy one more thing to get free shipping? I mean, isn’t it better to get something than pay for something to be delivered?! Oh well, let’s talk about these cookies now and we can worry about money later.

They were inspired by this pie which I made for Canadian thanksgiving last month, and which received rave reviews from everyone who ate it. These cookies combine all the wonderful flavours of fall, ginger, pumpkin, and of course, Nutella. I had some fresh ginger kicking around, and thought it would make a lovely change from dried, ground ginger. It adds a level of ginger intensity that you just don’t get from using the dried stuff. 
The pumpkin taste is subtle, but it adds a wonderful softness to the cookie, and the Nutella works well to accent both the pumpkin and ginger. Definitely a new fall favourite!

Nutella Kissed Pumpkin Gingersnap Cookies

Ingredients:
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp finely grated ginger
1/2 cup of canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filling)
1/4 cup fancy molasses
1 large egg
1 tsp vanilla
2 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp salt
1/4-1/3 cup Nutella

Directions:
1. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, whole wheat flour, baking soda, spices, and salt. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, beat together butter and sugar until creamy and smooth. Add the ginger at this point, because I find the exfoliating effects of the sugar intensifies the ginger flavour. Then add the pumpkin, molasses, egg, and vanilla, mix well until combined.

3. Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and mix until combined. Refrigerate the dough for at least an hour, or up to a couple of days.

4. When ready to bake, preheat the oven to 350 F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Roll dough into balls about the size of golf balls, and place on prepared baking sheet, about 2″ apart (they will spread somewhat). With your thumb or index finger make small indentations in the balls of dough, and fill with about 1/2 tsp-1 tsp of Nutella. Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until the cookies look cracked and set around the edges. They may not look completely done, but they will set up as they cool. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheet for 2-3 minutes after they come out of the oven, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

