Roasted Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Is it too soon to post another chocolate and peanut butter recipe?
No, it’s never too early.
I thought I’d share this cookie recipe with you since the first time I made it, using roasted almond butter and semi-sweet chocolate chips, it was absolutely amazing. Delicious, chewy oatmeal cookies, with no butter, no flour, and only 1/4 cup coconut oil. I was totally impressed.
After I made them the first time I started thinking of all the other combinations I wanted to try, and couldn’t stop thinking about the combination of peanut butter and milk chocolate. Yum! As I was looking at the recipe I also wondered what it would be like to use sea salt instead of regular table salt. The result is a wonderful flavour adventure of deep peanut flavour, sweet milk chocolate, and bits of salty goodness.
When I set out to make them this time, I looked at my bag of peanuts and wondered if I could roast them as well. After I did some research I found out that you can definitely roast peanuts in the oven, prettily easily in fact, and I had to try it.
The result is a peanut butter with a much darker colour, and so much more depth of flavour. Making your own peanut butter is really simple too. All you do is pour all your peanuts into the bowl of a food processor, press on, wait 3-5 minutes, and voila! Your own homemade peanut butter with no added oil, sugar, or weird hydrogenated oil.
While these cookies do contain white and brown sugar, I feel like this is balanced out by the absence of butter and flour. At least this is the logic that follows in my world!
If you want to make them completely gluten free you need to use certified GF oats. You could even make them vegan by using vegan chocolate chips, and substituting the eggs with 2 Tbsp ground flax and 3 Tbsp of warm water.
The possibilities with this recipe are endless and that’s why I love it so much!

Roasted Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Ingredients:
1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup dark brown sugar
1 1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 1/2 tsp sea salt
3 cups old-fashioned oats
10-oz milk chocolate chips
1 cup natural or homemade peanut butter (recipe follows)
2 large eggs
2 tsp vanilla extract
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
In a large bowl, mix together the coconut oil, peanut butter, sugar and brown sugar until well blended. Add vanilla extract and eggs. Keep mixing until everything is combined. (I did this all by hand but feel free to use a mixer, you won’t need to melt your coconut oil then.)
In another bowl, mix together the oats, baking soda, salt and cinnamon. Add to wet ingredients along with chocolate chips. Mix until just combined- be careful not to over mix! Refrigerate dough for 30 minutes to 1 hour.
Roll small balls of dough and place three inches apart on a silpat or parchment-lined cookie sheet. Do not flatten dough balls. Bake for 10-12 minutes until puffy. Let cool for 5 minutes on tray before transferring to cooling rack to cool completely.
For the Peanut Butter:
At least 2 cups unroasted, unsalted peanuts
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Spread peanuts out in a singe layer on a shallow baking tray. Bake for 10-15 minutes turning at least once. Keep an eye on them, as they’ll go from being roasted to burnt very quickly! Once done, turn out into a bowl to cool completely (I put mine in the fridge for about an hour because I’m impatient).
Put all the peanuts in the bowl of food processor. Pulse a couple of times to coarsely chop, and then turn on the food processor and leave it on for about 3-5 minutes. They will go from looking like finely chopped nuts, to a ball of peanut dough, and then the ball will break up become the creamy texture of peanut butter.
(Adapted from this recipe)
Leave a Reply

